Home     Contact Us    
Cub Scout Pack 157 - Weston, MA
Visit Our DensEventsPhoto GalleryResourcesHelpful Links
Tiger Den (1st Grade)
Wolf Den (2nd Grade)
Bear Den (3rd Grade)
WEBELOS 4 (4th Grade)
WEBELOS 5 (5th Grade)

Bobcat Requirements

The first rank that EVERY boy MUST earn when entering the Cub Scouting Program is the Bobcat rank.

To earn the Bobcat rank the new Cub Scout must do the following:

  1. Learn and say the CUB SCOUT PROMISE and complete the Honesty Character Connection.
    PROMISE “I, [your name], promise to do my best To do my duty to God and my country, To help other people, and To obey the Law of the Pack.”
  2. Say the LAW OF THE PACK. Tell what it means.
    “The Cub Scout follows Akela. The Cub Scout helps the pack go.
    The pack helps the Cub Scout grow. The Cub Scout gives goodwill.”
  3. Show the CUB SCOUT SIGN. Tell what it means.
  4. Show the CUB SCOUT HANDSHAKE. Tell what it means.
  5. Say the CUB SCOUT MOTTO. A motto is a guiding principle.
    “Do Your Best”
  6. Give the CUB SCOUT SALUTE. Tell what it means.
  7. With your parent or guardian, complete the exercises in the booklet,
    How to Protect Your Children from Child Abuse. [Tiger Cub: With your adult partner, complete “A Bobcat Requirement” in front of the Contents pages of this handbook.] [Webelos: With your parent or guardian, complete the Bobcat Requirements section of “How to Protect Your Children from Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide”).

The above items are the basic information that ALL Cub Scouts must learn, which is why EVERY boy who enters into Cub Scouting MUST earn the Bobcat Badge.